Salt Lake, Military, and Mountains

We went to the Great Salt Lake but it was mostly uneventful as well; a big, sicky stagnate lake with millions of bugs and strange creators within. We tried to float but couldn’t and ended up only staying half the day.

What was more fun, was camping in a beautiful Park for free when all the flowers were in bloom. We spent our days in Salt Lake City eating good organic food, going to their amazing four story library, and checking out shops. We planned to part ways in Salt Lake City since I wanted to head towards my brother’s house in Cheyenne, Wyoming and Fred wanted to head to Yellowstone National Park.

We both thought it would good to have our own adventures for a little while, do some soul searching then meet back up down the road. However it was extremely hard and sad saying goodbye.

I had an 8 hour drive to Wyoming that was hot and boring. But Fred had an amazing first day hitch hiking. He got rides from many different people, one of which took them to their house and let him shower, do laundry, and then took him to a Moron softball game. He made it to Yellowstone no problem and got rides from nice people all around the park.

I spent almost a week visiting my amazing brother; watching funny standup, eating pizza, and experiencing an Air force Base. Military people and bases are very different from what I had been around for the past 7 months. Lots of rules, security checks, and the obvious: thinking my car was insane. They played music over the base and when heard everyone has to stop what they’re doing –even driving, as I was doing- and be quite while the music plays. Everyone has to where the same camo uniform and have their hair cut short. It reminded me of creepy Nazi’s.

I decided on day, screw it, I’m going to Colorado. I drove solo to the Rocky Mountain National Park and quickly learned that this was one of the most amazing parks in the world. The huge mountains were like nothing I have ever seen before! I did a 10 miles hike on my first full day there with a traveler from South Africa I met. We went to Dream Lake, Emerald Lake, and Bear Lake –I hiked through snow so deep it reached my knees even though I was wearing shorts and a T shirt in the heat of the day. I saw Marmots all around (it’s a cross between a beaver and a squirrel), lots of cool colored birds, ballsy chipmunks, and lots and lots of full grown Elk. The lakes themselves were small but so beautifully blue and green with the snowcapped mountains in the back ground. The sky was piercingly blue only to be covered with a wind shift to hazy gray because of the forest fire going on in the West side of the park.

Another day I met four hitch hikers, two of which from Australia and spent the day hiking with them. When hiking back from a couple waterfalls and more lakes alone I quickly decided to do another two and a half mile section of the trail. It was part of the forest that got burned up in the fire thus the trail signs got obliterated and even the trial itself was gone! I scaled up and down the mountain for over an hour trying to find a path, ankle deep in ash! Scare as that was to be lost and alone in the forest it was incredibly beautiful how the trees were charred black and ash was swirling everywhere, then suddenly green plants were popping out of random places all over. Luckily I had my cell phone and found a path using Google earth –thank you technology. That day I hiked over 16 miles!

In the morning I went to the visitors center where I had heard there was a coyote den nearby. I watched three wild coyote puppies play together and watched the momma coyote come and play too. It was magical! Most definitely the cutest thing I have ever seen in my life.

I did the entire scenic drive of the Rocky Mountains –my little car going 15 miles per hour up the steep mountains. The wind up at the top of insane -everyone had on coats and snow pants because of the extreme cold. It was so beautiful and peaceful, with clear blue skies and snow everywhere. At another visitor center up in the snow I told a ranger I planned to know go to a place called Glenwood Springs, which I had read has a large deposit of hot springs. I told him it was only 100 miles away so it wouldn’t take me long to get there. He laughed at me and said “sweetie, this is mountain driving. It will take you a good 8 hours to drive 100 miles!”

Never mind. I’ll go to Denver instead.

I ended up being able to crash at a buddy’s house in Denver and have lots of fun with him and his roommates of all of which from Hope College!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Salt Lake, Military, and Mountains

  1. joann flipse

    So good to hear from you again. I always enjoy reading about your adventures.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

